Car Loan Calculator Detailed for California
Calculate by State > California
How are car loans in California calculated?
California charges sales tax during auto loans on the full sale price plus the dealer documentation fee without credit for trade-in vehicles nor rebates.
However, GAP insurance, extended warranties, and prepaid maintenance plans are not included in the taxable amount of the auto loan.
Therefore, car buyers get a tax break on prepaid service plans in California.
The exact tax rate may vary for your location. See our manual car tax calculator, and use the override option to fine tune your auto loan quote.
In our calculation, the taxable amount is $ which equals the sale price of $ plus the doc fee of $.
DMV fees are about $ on a $ vehicle based on a percentage of the vehicle’s value.
View the California state fee estimator to verify your registration cost, and use our DMV Override to adjust the calculator.
The documentation fee is set by the dealer, but is not negotiable so expect to see it on the contract. The customary doc fee of $85 is the maximum allowed by the State of California.
EV surcharges are levied to offset declining fuel tax revenue. Add $100 to the DMV fees for electric vehicles.
Prepaid maintenance can be included on the warranty line of the auto loan calculator for accurate handling.
Thank you for considering our dealership for your new vehicle! I can offer you a net price of $ which equals the dealer sale price of $ minus the factory rebate of $.
I can purchase your trade vehicle for $, payoff your loan up to $, and apply the balance of $ to this purchase. The estimated tax and registration combined is $, but this may vary based on your location. Our required dealer documentation fee is $.